My Mix Tape | The Daily Post Prompt

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Mix Tape.”

Playlists are one of the most important parts of my whole day. In fact, as I write this, my Spotify playlist named ‘July’ is filling the room. I can’t say I’m an organised person, but when it comes to music, both physical and digital, I’m a little over the top. I have a playlist for every month, usually full of around 60-70 songs that I’ve discovered and played on repeat, as well as ‘Acoustics’, ‘Bedtime’, ‘City Transport’…you get the idea. I sometimes wish I put as much effort into my schoolwork as I did with music. Anyway, after suffering with writers block for a good week or two, I’ve taken a prompt from ‘The Daily Post’ and decided to create a mixtape which describes me best, and is full of some of my favourite songs. Hopefully you’ll listen to a few tracks, or not. That’s cool with me too.

With Or Without You – U2 / My music taste has dramatically changed over the past few years, but this song has always stuck with me as one of my favourites. It’s one of those “I wish I’d written that,” tracks. It’s one of those songs which you recognise from the first second because of that iconic bass note. Iconic. From around the 3 minute mark, the only word I can use to describe the song is magical.

So Long, So Long., Rest To Get Better, Lake Q, Bright Lights, Dark Shadows, Asleep At The Wheel, Young New England – Transit / Transit are a band which I feel deserve SO much more recognition. Their most recent release of ‘Joyride’, 2013’s ‘Young New England’ and 2011’s ‘Listen and Forgive’ are three of the strongest albums I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. It isn’t often that we find an album where every single song is worthy of listening to on shuffle, but I’ve been lucky enough to find these three. It’s difficult to choose just one of the Boston based band’s tracks to include on a mixtape because they’re all so unique and addictive. I’ve chosen several of my favourites.

Entertain, Modern Girl, Hot Rock, The Size of Our Love, Oh! – Sleater-Kinney / S-K have been a huge influence for me in terms of playing music and my style, and so, I cherish their music hugely. Again, I simply can’t choose one song from their huge collection of 8 full lengths, so I’ve picked out some which have impacted me most.

Housebroken, Among the Wildflowers, Discomfort Revisited – The Hotelier / The Hotelier are another band which are extremely underrated. The melodies on ‘The Home, Like Noplace Is There’ are reminiscent of American Football’s self titled release. These few tracks are simply an escape. The complex guitar lines, combined with harsh yet emotional vocals, and the simply heartwarming end to ‘Among The Wildflowers’ make these few tracks so powerful.

Made In Hollywood, Walk Away – LANY / These two songs are so simple yet so, so wonderful. The prompt for this post included ‘songs which are hope for the future and what it entails’, and honestly, these two fit that description perfectly. Just listening to ‘Made In Hollywood’ gives me visions of sitting on the Manhattan subway late one evening on my way back to a tiny, one bedroom apartment, and then walking around the city, staring into the Brooklyn skyline as nothing but lights fill the dark sky. These tracks are the definition of escape. I fall more in love with them after every listen. It’s interesting how music gives me so much hope, so many dreams. Chills.

Thunder Clatter – Wild Cub / Speaking of Manhattan, that’s where I discovered this very track. I visited the city in April, and it still hasn’t hit me that I was actually there. New York fills me with this weird feeling of excitement and hope and belonging and everything in between. Whilst sitting in Footlocker, I heard this song playing from the speakers. “You’re the love of my life”, and “Hidden in the Fall,” were the only two lyrics which I managed to catch, and so I Googled them, and instantly found this work of art on Spotify. On the flight home, I listened to this song on repeat for seven hours. I can still listen to this song on repeat for seven hours in my house. It’s absolute bliss.

High Regard, Things I Can’t Change – The Story So Far / TSSF are right at the top of the league for Pop Punk right now. There’s just something about this band which makes them stand out. I’m not sure if it’s Parker’s throaty vocals, or the drum fills and chord progressions, but whatever it is, it’s something, and it’s magical.

Today – The Smashing Pumpking / The greatest intro ever written. That’s all I have to say.

Clampdown, Lost In the Supermarket, Charlie Don’t Surf – The Clash / 1 minute and 35 seconds into ‘Clampdown’ and my mind was blown. That guitar riff is seriously one of the catchiest pieces I’ve heard. The Clash are iconic, with London Calling up there as one of my favourite albums.

Iris – The Goo Goo Dolls / Absolutely cheesy and absolutely one of the most beautiful songs of all time.

Anthem Part Two, Feeling This, Man Overboard, Always – Blink 182 / Blink are the kings of punk rock, and that’s the bottom line. So many of my favourite musicians have taken inspiration from Mark, Tom and Travis, and their simple chord progressions and huge choruses are serious inspirations for me too.

Same Love – feat. Mary Lambert, Ten Thousand Hours – Macklemore and Ryan Lewis / While ‘The Heist’ was one of my favourite 2012 releases, these are two of the strongest tracks in my opinion. It’s rare to find a rapper in today’s industry who uses their influence for the better, and Macklemore simply does. Same Love is a perfect example of this, and it’s one of the most powerful tracks I’ve heard in forever.

Man In The Mirror, The Way You Make Me Feel, Dirty Diana, Scream – Michael Jackson / The King of Pop and the king of my musical inspirations. MJ’s music was a gift to this earth and I’m so glad that I’m around to hear it.

Back in Black, You Shook Me All Night Long, Rock and Roll – AC/DC

Animal, Pour Some Sugar On Me – Def Leppard

Talk Slow, Run Away, Vibes – Chase Atlantic

Here We Are – Fire In The Hamptons

Coffee, Face The Sun, Waves, Simple Things, Leaves, What’s Normal Anyway, A Beautiful Exit – Miguel / You get the idea. One of the strongest releases in 2015. I adore this album.

I could continue this list forever because my music taste is too complex to fit into a few hundred words, but hopefully I’ve given you some ideas. Did I mention that I love music?

Leave a Reply

